January is school board appreciation month

January is school board appreciation month
Posted on 01/10/2019
January is school board appreciation monthJanuary is School Board Recognition Month, and Nacogdoches ISD will join the Texas Association of School Boards and other districts across the state to honor the countless contributions of these locally elected advocates for Texas schoolchildren and public schools.

“The Board of Trustees has been remarkable to work with here,” said NISD Interim Superintendent Alton Frailey. “Their decision to unanimously call a bond election last summer played a key role in crafting a message that voters responded to in November.”

The board unanimously called the bond election in July, and voters backed the measure in November, with approximately 68 percent of those voting supporting the proposal.

“I can’t say enough about how well this board has worked together, allowing district staff to take care of what matters most… providing learning opportunities for students,” Frailey said.

School trustees tackle a difficult job and shoulder enormous responsibilities, Frailey said. “They provide vision and leadership in their roles as advocates, and they will continue to stand up for public education and guard against anything that takes away from our children or undermines our public schools.”

The men and women serving on the Nacogdoches ISD Board of Trustees are: President Pam Fitch, Vice President G.W. Neal, Secretary James Montoya, the Rev. James Ervin, Dr. Tyrrell Grohman, M.D., Farshid Niroumand and Mindy Beene Winslow.

“It’s more important than ever before that the public support public education so that today’s students are prepared to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow,” Frailey said. “Please take a moment and tell school board members ‘thanks for caring about our children and giving so much to our community.’ Let them know we support them and that their dedicated service is recognized and truly appreciated.”
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.